Friday, July 31, 2015

Promo: The Hotter You Burn by Gena Showalter



THE HOTTER YOU BURN


The Original Heartbreakers

New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter is back with a sizzling Original Heartbreakers tale featuring a troubled playboy and the woman he can’t resist…

Beck Ockley is ruthless in the boardroom...and the bedroom. He's never been with the same woman twice, and vows he never will. With a past as twisted as his, meaningless sex keeps the demons at bay. His motto: One and done. No harm, no foul.

Harlow Glass is the most hated girl in town. The beautiful artist is penniless, jobless and homeless. When she sneaks into Beck's home—her ancestral estate—for food, she's shocked by his early return...and her immediate, sizzling and intense attraction to him.

For the first time in Beck's life, he can't get a woman out of his mind. All too soon, friendship blooms into obsession and he'll have to break her heart...or surrender his own.

THE HOTTER YOU BURN

GENA SHOWALTER

$7.99 U.S./$8.99 CAN.
ISBN-13: 978-0-373-77969-7
ON SALE 7/28/15

Links:


GENA SHOWALTER
Gena Showalter is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author whose works have appeared in Cosmopolitan and Seventeen magazines, as well as Entertainment Weekly. Her novel Red Handed has been optioned by Sony Television. Critics have called her books “sizzling page-turners” and “utterly spellbinding stories,” while Showalter herself has been called “a star on the rise.” Her mix of humor, danger and wickedly hot sex provides wildly sensual page-turners sure to enthrall.

Social Media Links:



Blog Tour: Malibu Betrayals by MK Meredith

Malibu Betrayals blog tour banner

blog tour

MALIBU-BETRAYALS-500x750

Book Title: Malibu Betrayals 
Author: MK Meredith 
Genre: Select Contemporary 
Release Date: July 28, 2015 
Hosted by: Book Enthusiast Promotions

Goodreads Button with Shadow

Book Blurb

Hollywood screenwriter Samantha Dekker spent the last year picking up the pieces after her husband's suicide. Along with grief, guilt, and tabloid hell, she's had to watch helplessly as the film industry slammed its doors in her face. Now Sam has the rarest of Hollywood opportunities—a second chance…working with the one man she swore never to see again.
Hunktastic A-lister Gage Cutler knows that Sam blamed him for his part in her husband's death. Still, Sam is the one woman he can never forget. All he wants is a second chance of his own—to prove he's not the player she remembers. And Malibu is the perfect backdrop to make a girl swoon.

Except they're not alone. Someone is watching Sam and Gage's steamy off-screen romance with the most dangerous of intentions…

excerpt

“Tell me more about your feelings toward these crazy Cutler fans.”

Ignoring him, she looked him over from across the table, and purposely biting her lower lip, pushed her silverware around and then lined each piece up in straight lines once more. “Do you know your eyes are sometimes green and sometimes blue?”

He cocked a brow. “Really? You want to talk about my eyes?”

That showed what he knew; his eyes really were alluring. She raised her brows.

Gage stared at her a moment and grinned, taking a long swallow from his glass. “Fine, last I checked my eyes were blue.”

Adrenaline emboldened her as she held his gaze. “Not when you’re coming; then they’re green.”

Gage choked.

Sam’s heart lurched and her face flushed a few thousand degrees hotter. Flirting with him was its own kind of high, and she wanted more.

A bark of laughter broke from his lips, and he tried to muffle it with his napkin, knowing security wasn’t too far off. Gage leaned in. “To be honest, I’ve never seen my eyes when I—”

Sam threw her hand up. “No, God, don’t say it again.” She squirmed in her seat as heat flushed her skin. She wasn’t sure if it was from her embarrassment or his gaze.

He slid those damned eyes up and down her body, at least what was visible above the table, and took bite of his scallops, chewing while he teased, “Are you kidding? I can totally get on board with this change in topic.”

“I’m not changing the topic.” Her face warmed.

He cocked his brow again. “I want to hear more about the color of my eyes, and anything to do with ‘coming.’”

Well, she did start it. Sam snatched a piece of ice from her glass and sucked the end of it. Then, with slow purposeful movements, she ran the cube over her jaw and down the side of her neck. If they were going to keep this fun and playful, she needed to do her part. Besides, pushing the envelope was more fun than she’d ever imagined. She might just need to try it more often. Her voice low, forcing him to lean closer, she said, “Your eyes are blue when you’re calm, in control. But when you get hot, when your body tightens with wanting, they glow a light cyan. As you get closer—you know what I mean by closer.”

Gage all but lay across the table, paying rapt attention to her every word. He nodded with the slightest of movement.

“When your skin slides against my skin, my breasts pressed against your chest, your body so tight, so hot that it can’t handle even, one…more…stroke. Bam!” She slapped the table.

Gage jumped and she laughed. He grabbed his napkin to wipe his brow and downed the rest of his water in one long swallow.

“Green.”

“What?” Gage asked.

She tried not to enjoy herself too much, but he deserved it. If he wasn’t going to let her off the hook, she’d put him on one.


Review.jpg

MALIBU BETRAYALS is the first in a new series, Malibu Sights, by MK Meredith. Malibu Betrayals is the story of Samantha and Gage.

Years ago, Samantha and Gage met, but Samantha was already married. While not happily married (Samantha's husband was a cheating, vain jerk), Samantha still stayed with her husband after an accident left him injured. A year ago Samantha's husband committed suicide and although tragic, Samantha was finally free to live her life.

Gage has a chance to help Samantha and gets her a job on the set of his new movie. While Samantha is working for Gage, there are twists and turns that I didn't really see coming, one being that someone was out to hurt Samantha.

I thought this book was a good start for a new series, but I would have liked to see the first meeting of Gage and Samantha years prior. While it's spoken about, I would have liked to see it first hand. The other thing that somewhat irked me is how hot and cold Samantha is. One minute she wants Gage, the next she doesn't. There is a lot of back and forth between the characters. There was genuine chemistry between Samantha and Gage, but the back and forth got to be a bit much.

All in all, I think the Malibu Sights has a promising start and although it could have been developed a bit more, MK Meredith shows talent and promise. I enjoyed Meredith's writing style along with the twists and turns this book holds and I am looking forward to the next book.

★★★


Meet the Author

MK writes single title contemporary romance novels, promising an emotional ride on heated sheets. As a member of several writing groups, she believe the best route to success is to never stop learning. She’s had a lifelong love affair with peanut butter -- the only two things coming close in the battle for her affections are gorgeous heels, and maybe Gerard Butler...or was it David Gandy? Who is she kidding? Her true loves are her husband and two children who have survived her SEA's (spontaneous explosions of affection) and lived to tell the tale. The Meredith’s live near D.C. with their two fur babies until the next adventure calls.

Social Media

websiteblognewsletter signuptwitterFacebookGoodreads

Buy the Book

MALIBU-BETRAYALS-500x750

amazon usamazon UKB&N


Giveaway

Malibu betrayals blog tour button

BEPRectangle

Thursday, July 30, 2015

Release Blitz: Trace + Olivia Series Boxed Set by Micalea Smeltzer




Title: Trace + Olivia Series Boxed Set
Series: Trace + Olivia #1-4
Author: Micalea Smeltzer
Genre: New Adult
 Release Date: July 30, 2015



Blurb

Finding Olivia: How far would you go to find yourself? That’s the question that’s been haunting Olivia Owens for years.

Chasing Olivia: How far would you go to reignite the spark you once had? Two years later, Trace and Olivia are as much in love as they’ve always been. But the spark they once had for life is waning and Trace is determined that they find it again. His solution? A road trip. But he doesn’t tell Olivia the real reason they’re heading north.

Tempting Rowan:
I’m drowning in the numbness. It’s pulling me under and I can’t see the surface. It’s easier to pretend I can’t feel. And the longer you pretend, the easier it is to believe. But he wants to save me. Only he can’t. I have to save myself…and I don’t know if I want to.

Saving Tatum: Even tough girls need saving. Jude Brooks is bad news. He’s the kind of guy that leaves behind a string of broken hearts and Tatum O’Connor is not about to be one of those girls, despite all of Jude’s advances. They have a past, and Tatum’s determined to make sure they don’t have a future.








Links to Buy

Only 99c for a limited time

AMAZON US / UK








Excerpt


“No, no, no, no!” I beat my steering wheel with the heel of my hand. “No! You’ve got to be kidding me!” I pulled off the road, my tire bumping along.
I put my car in park and climbed out to assess the damage.
My feet crunched on the gravel scattered alongside the road.
Immediately, the oily burnt smell of my peeling tire met me.
Calling this a flat tire didn’t do it justice. This was complete and utter carnage.
I looked behind me, at the trail of tire pieces leading straight to my car, like a path of breadcrumbs.
It was starting to get dark and this wasn’t exactly the safest road.
I was also a twenty-year-old girl, ripe for the picking.
I kicked the side of my car. “I don’t have time for this!”
I stalked around the back, to the trunk, lifting it and looking for the necessary tools to change a tire.
Which was pointless because, unfortunately, I didn’t know the first thing about changing a tire. My father had made sure that I only knew how to do a woman’s work.
I slammed the trunk closed and stalked back to the driver’s side, pulling at the ends of my hair. I glared at the offending nail, that had to be four inches long, sticking out of the tire. How many nails did people drive over a day and I was the one to get a flat freakin’ tire?
Not cool.
Not at all.
I opened the door and reached for my phone to call my roommate to come pick me up.
The sky was darkening and I didn’t want to be stranded here.
I wrapped my lightweight jacket tighter around my body, as the wind gusted around me, blowing leaves off of the nearby trees. I watched the red, yellow, and orange leaves fall down and scatter over my car. One, unfortunately, got caught in my hair. I reached up and pulled it out before letting it drift to the ground.
Gravel crunched behind me. I turned quickly, to see a guy getting out of a black car that looked like something old, but classic.
I hadn’t even heard him pullover.
I backed a step away, thinking he might be a murderer, or a rapist.
But when I got a look at his face I was stunned.
He was tall, with a lean body, but muscular. He had short, dark brown, almost black, hair and the greenest eyes I had ever seen. Five o’ clock shadow covered his cheeks and chin. My eyes trailed down, over the white t-shirt glued to his chest, and stopped there. I could see black ink underneath the white shirt and licked my lips. The fact that he had tattoos only made him hotter. To protect against the cold, he was wearing a long-sleeved plaid shirt.
“Uh—can I help you?” He asked, smiling pleasantly at me, and putting my earlier fears about him being a murderer or rapist completely to rest.
Help? With what? I needed help?
“Huh?”
He grinned crookedly, tilting his head. “With your tire. Do you need some help?”
He had the deepest, huskiest, voice I had ever heard. I shivered at the sound. I was pretty sure I’d be happy for him to help me with a lot of things, and none of them included my tire.
“Help would be great,” I blushed, ducking my head.
He chuckled. “You do have a spare, right?”
“Yeah, it’s in the trunk,” I pointed, like he didn’t know where the trunk was.
He grabbed the spare, and all the necessary tools and sat down, next to the ruined tire.
“I—uh—would’ve changed it myself, but—uh—my dad never taught me,” I ran my fingers nervously through my wavy brown hair. “He said something about it not being appropriate for a girl to do and if I ever got a flat tire, I better hope Prince Charming came along. My dad’s very—uh—old fashioned,” I stammered.
He looked up at me. “Does that make me Prince Charming?” He grinned.
“Oh—uhm—Prince Charming is fictional, so I guess not, and he-uh-usually rides a white horse or something… I think.”
Somebody, stamp AWKWARD across my forehead already.
The guy threw his head back and laughed. “I guess a shiny black '69 Camaro doesn’t count as a white horse. You watch a lot of Disney movies or something?”
“No,” I blushed tomato red. “At least not anymore.”
“You’re funny,” he squinted up at me, shielding his eyes from the orange glow of the setting sun.
“I hope that’s a good thing,” I muttered. Unfortunately, I wasn’t trying to be funny.
“It’s a very good thing-” He paused, waiting for my name.
“Oh—uh—Olivia. Olivia Owens.”
“I’m Trace,” he reached a hand up to me and I took it. It was warm and calloused, swallowing mine whole. “Trace Wentworth,” he grinned when my hand jerked at his touch.








Author Bio


Micalea Smeltzer is a bestselling Young and New Adult author from Winchester, Virginia. She’s always working on her next book, and when she has spare time she loves to read and spend time with her family.




Author Links

ARC Review: Written on My Heart by Cole Gibsen

Title: Written on My Heart
Author: Cole Gibsen
Release Date: July 28th, 2015 by Entangled Publishing
Pages: 290

Some words last forever...
It's been six months since Ashlyn Daniels was kicked out of her home. Six months since she stood up to her abusive stepfather and got a busted rib-and seeing all her things set ablaze in a backyard bonfire-for her trouble. Never going back. She doesn't need trouble...especially if trouble is tattoo artist Lane Garrett, who's six-feet-plus of tattooed hotness and a complete ass.
Lane has spent the last decade fighting to support his family. To protect them. There's no room for romance, even with a fragile (yet amusingly feisty) stunner...even if she somehow manages to invade his world and his heart.
But while some secrets are as visible as ink on the skin, others must remain hidden at all costs..


My Review
First off, the cover for Written on My Heart is absolutely amazing and just spoke to me from the beginning. The perfect colors, eye catching details, and fonts, the cover for Written on My Heart is beautiful.

Secondly, this story is absolutely heartbreaking, yet incredibly wonderful all at the same time. Written on My Heart is the story of second chances and both Ashlyn and Lane are in need of one. 

Ashlyn was verbally and mentally abused by her step-father until she could no longer stand the abuse and left home, leaving her mother behind. Homeless and sleeping in her car, she takes the first apartment she can afford with a less than stellar roommate. The only bright side in her life and the only thing she has for herself is her poetry. When a co-worker makes friends with Ashlyn, she is startled to meet her co-worker's brother, Lane. Ashlyn finds Lane irresistible but he is off-limits since he has a girlfriend.. or so she thinks.

Ashlyn and Lane are just what each other needs. Both in search of a second chance and something more for their lives', Ashlyn and Lane meet at the right time and the rest is as they say it, history. 

I loved both Ashlyn and Lane's characters. Ashlyn is such a beautiful and strong woman full of talent and life just waiting to burst from her. Whereas Lane is a protector and cares deeply for his family. Together Ashlyn and Lane make a stunning couple and I loved watching them fall in love.

I love Cole Gibsen's writing style and the way she drew me into the book. I felt as if I was a part of the book while at the same time feeling genuine emotions that the characters were feeling. Gibsen is an incredibly talented author and I look forward to reading more from her.

Written on My Heart is one of my favorite books of 2015 and is definitely a book to be re-read and cherished over and over again. 

★★★★★

Release Blitz: Devil in the Detail (Butcher Boys #4) by Max Henry




Title: Devil in the Detail
Series: Butcher Boys #4
Author: Max Henry
Genre: Suspense/Contemporary
 Release Date: July 30, 2015




Blurb

Loves comes in all shapes and forms, and sometimes it can be hard to distinguish which one you’re given.

I run from my pain—that’s just what I do. It’s how I’ve managed to keep a handle on the shame and remorse at what I did the day my life changed. Has it changed me for the good, or for the worse—I can never be sure? Some days it's one and most it’s the other.

Now, each day is getting darker, ever since I met the woman who has the power to ease my ache and got a taste for what could be.

Selfish? Maybe. Foolish? Definitely. But nothing can stop me until I prove to her she needs me just as much as it kills me to wake up one more day without her.

I’ll do whatever it takes—even if I risk my life and my health fighting her psychotic and possessive old man to get her in my bed.











Links to Buy

AMAZON US / UK
iBOOKS

My Review

Ramona is a woman with a lot on her plate. Not only is she raising her son, Mack, she's also dealing with the fact that Mack's father is pretty much the devil in disguise. Thanks to Sawyer, Ramona's ex, her and Mack are in danger and Sawyer is being sent to receive his punishment from his father-  not a kind man.

Callum, the MC president, has put Ramona and Mack up in a safe house. The safe house is Ty's and from the moment Ty and Ramona meet the chemistry is present, but they both have their own issues and problems to deal with. 

While Ramona feels for Ty and knows that he can give her the things she lacks with Sawyer, most important being love, she feels loyalty to Sawyer because she is the only one who knows of the demons he fights. 

Devil in the Detail is insanely good, but complicated. It's a pretty busy story with new characters and old, but with danger and passion too. Henry's writing is as always, flawless. As characters Ramona and Ty call out to you and you can easily connect with them. 

Devil in the Detail is exciting and one of my favorites from this series. I enjoyed catching up with old characters and at the same time meeting new ones. While Sawyer is not and will never be a character I like, the glimpse in his demons gave me a little more background as to why he is the way he is.

Another great book from Max Henry!


★★★★




Also Available


FREE

AMAZON US / UK





AMAZON US / UK





AMAZON US / UK



PRE-ORDER DEVIL SMOKE NOW










Excerpt


Her brow twitches. “I can’t do this. I’m sorry.” She steps away, heading for the door.

Lunging from the chair, I catch her shoulder and spin her to face me. “Can’t do what? Why are you running?”

“Because being around you makes me feel things, and I know it’s wrong to.”

“Ramona, you need to tell me,” I plead, heart beating erratically. “What kind of ‘things’ are you feeling?” I need to know if they’re the same.

“Like you could be something incredible for me. But . . . ”

God, she’s killing me. “But?”

“It’s not the right time.” She smiles softly.

A beat passes with us staring at one another. I don’t want the moment to end. I don’t want her to walk away. “Do you love him?” My tongue is thick in my mouth.
She shakes her head, smiling, yet her eyes are sad . . . so damn sad. “Not like you think—that’s the problem.”








Author Bio


Max is the author of the suspense filled, and highly emotive Butcher Boys series. She writes uniquely dark romance, featuring damaged alphas and the women who help them achieve balance in their lives.

Originally born and bred in Canterbury, New Zealand, Max now resides with her family in beautiful and sunny Queensland, Australia. Life with two young children can be hectic at times, and although she may not write as often as she would like, Max wouldn't change a thing.

In her down time, Max can be found at her local gym, brain-storming through a session with the weights. Or, she may be out bumping, and jostling her way along a dirt track with the family in hubby's 4WD.




Author Links

GOODREADS




Giveaway

Book Review: Drape Expectations (Caprice Deluca Mystery #4) by Karen Rose Smith

Title: Drape Expectations
Series: Caprice Deluca Mystery #4
Author: Karen Rose Smith
Released: July 28th, 2015 from Kensington Publishing
Pages: 352 

These days, home stager Caprice De Luca’s calendar is a full house. Her grandmother’s health is failing, her wayward uncle is stirring the pot, and she’s torn between two equally eligible suitors. With so much drama in her personal life, Caprice is grateful to have Ace Richland, a former 80s rock star, ask her to stage his girlfriend’s house. But Alanna Goodwin is a tough customer who balks at Caprice’s ideas and all but commandeers the staging. Caprice almost isn’t surprised when the snappish Southern belle is strangled to death with a tieback from her tacky velvet drapes. But just as she draws back the curtains on the truth, Caprice realizes she may be next on a murderer’s set list… 



My Review

Caprice Deluca is at it again: staging homes and solving crimes one day at a time! When Caprice is called to help her friend, Ace Richland's girlfriend stage her home to sell, Caprice never imagined the situation she would find herself in once more. 

When Ace's girlfriend, Alanna, is murdered the police name Ace as the suspect and Caprice is once again on the case as she tries to clear Ace's name and figure out who the actual murderer is . 

Drape Expectations is the fourth book in the Caprice Deluca Mystery series and just as the rest of the books, it is a delightful, cozy mystery. Karen Rose Smith has a knack for cozies and which each book in this series, I find myself more and more in love with Caprice Deluca and her quirkiness along with the mysteries that keeps us readers on our toes. 

Drape Expectations is utterly captivating and demanded my attention. I could not put this book down until I knew who the real murder was and what happens with Caprice's lovelife. After three books, Caprice's choice between Seth and Grant is finally revealed. I don't want to give anything away, so that's all I will say for that ;)

The characters in Drape Expectations are as always engaging and delightful and I love Caprice's little furry friends. And best of all Karen has provided readers with some delicious recipes to try out! 

Another great book in this wonderful series by Karen Rose Smith! 

FIVE STARS!

Stay Updated ♥

Member Of... ♥

Quote of the Month ♥

If I'm honest, I have to tell you I still read fairytales and I like them best of all _ Audrey Hepburn ♥♥♥