Thursday, October 31, 2013

Author of the Month: Review, Giveaway, and Interview with Marie Fostino

      

                            
     I am glad to announce that Bottles & Books Reviews first author of the month is Marie Fostino! I am so happy to have her joining me here today for an interview.
    Marie, a wife, mother, paramedic, and author has written five books to date which include The Silver Locket, which I will be touching base on today, and A Struggle of the Heart, which I reviewed last month. My review for A Struggle of the Heart can be found here.
    One of the greatest things about Marie's work is that her books are based on real life experiences. These experiences lead to her books having much depth and emotion. You can feel the heart of the book in each book that Marie write. Marie's books make you laugh, make you cry, and touch you deep down in your soul.



     
SOMETIMES LOVE HURTSCrystal and Blake are only married for a year when trouble finds its way into their life. Driving through the rain, and crying so hard it's difficult to see, she finally makes it home to talk to her mom. Lisa is upset as she tries to 
calm  her daughter down. Life is not always a bed of roses Crystal finds out as Lisa  pulls out the journals she found after her parents death. Inside the 
writing of  Natalie, Crystal grandmother, tells a story of falling in love, 
betrayal,  forgiveness and new beginnings. Will Crystal and Blake stay married or call it  quits.


ROSEMARY & ANTONIO - Takes place in the turbulent era of the 1920’s, prohibition and gangs running rampant in the streets of Chicago. You will enjoy this version of the events leading up to one of the bloodiest days in Chicago’s history with Tommy-guns, gangsters and a love story throw in.


A STRUGGLE OF THE HEARTAnnette Ferrari lives in Lawton, OK with her family when she decides it is time to leave and make it on her own. She moves to Norman with her girlfriend Lynn when she meets Aaron. It is love at first sight as he captures her heart. As they spend time together their love grows.  Aaron joins the army and they continue  their love through letters. Annette's life is turned upside down as she experiences the Oklahoma Bombing and her letters from Aaron stop. Broken hearted Annette devotes her mind to her studies. Tim a class mate befriends Annette and lets her know how he feels about her. But it isn’t until a disturbing event happens which changes her course of life and love.


THE SILVER LOCKETWhen Jennifer finds that her daughter is not home from school yet, her past flashes before her eyes. Memories of moving, making new friends, falling in love, senseless death, and becoming a mother at the tender age of sixteen. People would stop Jenny and ask if the child she was with was her sister. "No, this is my child." A strange combination of sadness and joy overcome her when she turns back the clock. Names and faces float through her mind like ghosts that still haunt her. The Silver Locket captures the teen soul, heartbreaking judgement calls, and the beauty of a close-knit Christian family. You will read how the "new teen on the block" makes friends, makes mistakes, finds her faith, 

and most importantly learns life lessons. 

ALZHEIMER'S: A CARETAKER'S JOURNAL An inspirational tale of one family's love, devotion and faith.

When I arrived, I approached the figure in the wheelchair. I asked him who I was but my  
father-in-law did not recognize me. When I tried to help him, he became angry and violent. He tried to get out of his wheelchair and away from me. He yelled, "No! You are not taking me back to Germany! You are all Nazis! You are all  trying to kill me." Dad won a Bronze Star Medal for his service during WWII. It  took three of us to get him outside to the car. Dad had his fists to me, a growl on his face and threatened to kick me. Then the swearing began . This is a book about the daily trials and tribulations of taking care of a loved one with  Alzheimer's Disease. In this Journal I share the feelings of confusion, frustration, and blessings I experienced during my ordeal. I wrote this Journal both for myself and with the hope that it might help others deal with similar  situations. It's important for caretakers to know that they're not alone, that  others have experienced the same frustrations. Sometimes a caretaker feels very  isolated-the world, after all, doesn't stop, despite the sense that your world is frozen in time. I'm hoping that this book will offer comfort to those who  find themselves in that world. In this Journal I record the little things I did,  daily, to preserve my sanity and provide my father-in-law with as nearly a normal life as possible. It is a tale of thoughts, stories, anecdotes, as well as feelings of helplessness, guilt, happiness, and sorrow. If you feel as though you can and want to see your loved one through this awful disease, then this  book will offer a helping hand. The Journal will also be of value to anyone who wants some idea of what to expect from a person suffering from Alzheimer's  Disease. Finally, please remember that Alzheimer's affects different people in many different ways. This is my account of living with Alzheimer's. This  publication includes testimonials from Maria's husband (Joe's son) and two of  his grandchildren who shared Maria's home-care duties. Also features numerous  photographs of family events, both in years past as well as during Joe's illness. This is a very touching, human story about families and how they deal  with crises, emerging stronger and closer as a result of their misfortune.

                                       


MY REVIEW OF THE SILVER LOCKET: The Silver Locket is a beautiful, heartwarming coming of age story of first love, loss, teenage pregnancy and the strength of family. 

Jenny, new to town, is struggling to make friends until she meets Jacy and his gang of friends. While not the type of crowd Jenny usually associates with, her loneliness overcomes her and she finds herself drawn to them and most importantly to Jacy. 

Jacy, a rebellious teen, thinks Jenny is the perfect girl for his school year fling. Jacy thinks of Jenny as sweet and naive and knows with just the right amount of suggestion he can convince her to do almost anything for him: even give him her virginity. While not looking for love, Jenny starts to find her way into his heart. Little does he know what he think will be fling will shake up his world and change his life.

Jenny starts to fall head over heels in love with Jacy and finally succumbs to temptation only to learn mere weeks later that she is pregnant. 

Will Jacy changes his ways and step up to be a dad? Will Jenny be on her own in raising this baby? Will they stay together?

Drawing from her own personal experience of her own daughter's teenage pregnancy, Marie writes a '5 star' book showing the realities of peer pressure and teenage pregnancy. Many girls have been in Jenny's shows and this book is for all of those that have been. Peer pressure is very real. Teenage pregnancy is real. Instead of shying from those issues, Marie addresses the truth of them in The Silver Locket.

Marie's characters are well thought out and defined. Jenny's character is full of heart and you can feel the depth of her emotions while Jacy's character shows the progress of a rebellious teen in going through the beginnings of redeeming himself and becoming a man. The Silver Locket focuses on change and growing up, but also the strong bonds of family. Throughout the story Jenny's family stands by her. Through her bit of rebellion, through her pregnancy and the birth of her child, her family can be counted on to stand beside her. While not in anyway promoting teenage pregnancy, The Silver Locket, shows how in situations such as that the strength and love of family is powerful.

I once again fell in love with Marie's characters and the book itself. I highly recommend The Silver Locket and am honored to have had the chance to read and review it.






Hi Marie, thank you for joining me at Bottles & Books Reviews today and allowing me to interview you.

Thank you Jessica for this interview, I really appreciate you. What you are doing for authors is commendable. 

What inspired you to become a writer? 
I wrote my first book because of my father in law’s Alzheimer’s. As I was taking care of him, I would write letters on my computer to family to keep everyone up dated. They told me after he died that I needed to make a book to help others and that is how I started writing. All though I went through a box of letters I found in my garage the other day and noticed that I wrote short stories while my kids were young in the year 1990 and I also have the rejection letters. This was way before computers and cell phones. Lol 

What have you written? 
I have written 5 books so far. One is non-fiction called Alzheimer’s A Caretakers Journal. This was about taking care of my father in law with his Alzheimer’s. 
The other 4 books are fiction YA books.

My book The Silver Locket came to me after my first grandchild turned fifteen years old. The memories came flooding back to that time her mom was pregnant while in high school which was the idea behind this book.

My third book A Struggle of the Heart came next as I looked back into my life when I changed careers from being a beautician to a paramedic due to the Oklahoma City Bombing.


My forth book Rosemary & Antonio is my version of Romeo and Juliet but in the 1920’s.  Growing up and living in Chicago, the history of Al Capone is very interesting to me since my grandpa use to work for him.


My fifth book Sometimes Love Hurts is a book about love and forgiveness. Like a lot of marriages we have gone through some rough times and had to learn to forgive and forget.


When writing do you have any rituals (a lucky trinket by your side, mood music, etc.)? 
No I don’t.  I have done a lot of writing of the first draft on my ambulance. I have the idea in my head and just start writing it over and over again until I come up with how I want to present it. I enjoy fiction books so I try to make real life situations into fiction stories.

Are you working on anything at the moment? 
I am in the thinking mode right now. All of my books but one is from my life changing experiences.

Besides writing you work on an ambulance, did that give you the inspiration for Annette's character?  
Oh good question. My main reason for this book is how the Oklahoma bombing affected me. I had to share how insignificant I felt since they would not let me help and why I decided to work on an ambulance. I was the beautician who went to school to be a paramedic. I shared all my experiences in that book that I went through. Well except the romantic part. I was 40 yrs. old when I went back to school, married and had 5 children.  I also wanted to let people know that even through this disaster some good things came out of it. I wanted to make a positive ending for this negative event.

How long on average does it usually take you to write a book? 
This is a hard question. It may not take long to write the book if you have it in your head, but it is the re-editing and re-writing that takes so long.

If you could live in one place, real or fictional, where would it be and why? 
I would go back in time and live on the farm in Wisconsin with my grandparents. Life was simple and days were long, whether chasing the chickens to find their eggs or lie back on the grass and make animals out of the clouds, those were the days my friends.

What is your favorite book and why? 
The book called The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks holds tight to my heart. I think it is because of my father in law with his Alzheimer’s and that is the first book I read that was fiction about the disease.

If you could give your younger self any advice what would it be? I would have to tell myself to keep a journal of my life. Say starting like right after high school to see how I have grown mentally and spiritually.

How would you describe yourself in five words? Compassionate, loving, self-motivated, playful, and quiet

What's next for you as an author? I am working on getting my other E-books into paper back.  I myself enjoy holding a book in my hands. I love reading from my kindle but I miss the smell of a book.

What advice would you give aspiring authors? If you have a story, write, and re-write. Don’t let other people discourage you. Make sure you get your work edited over and over again. Than share it with the world. Remember you can start by making it an E-book which is cheaper than making it a paper back. But who knows, maybe a big time agent will like what you wrote and you can be the next big hit.

You and your husband are both writers, do you give each other ideas for your books? 
My husband and I are totally different writers. Where I make fiction books from experiences my husband loves Si-Fi and has his own imagination. We do talk to each other and run ideas off each other. But we write totally different. 

Since you are both writers, do you find it easier to have some you know on a personal level critique your work since they have had the same experiences as you?     
My husband does not read my books. Lol It is not the kind of genre that he likes.  I have read his and I love his writing, but sometimes I get a little lost and have him explain to me and I think that helps him with his re-writes. 

 You are giving away two of your husband's books, The Eleventh Universe and Earthbound the Mingling, can you tell readers a little bit about the books?
The Eleventh Universe - From the moment Asmodeeus and LiLith are first introduced, they sense a celestial bond they cannot deny. But when LiLith breaks Asmodeeus’ heart for that of a mere mortal, the Eleventh Universe's most powerful spirit finds himself torn between heartbreak and hatred - good and evil - leaving mankind's fate on an uncertain path. Can Lord Vafa – the 11th Element of the Godhead and Asmodeeus’ Father – find a way to alter his son’s destiny? 

Earthbound the Mingling - There’s no question they planned their mission carefully; all I’s dotted, all T’s crossed. But reality is fickle. It cares nothing for plans made by man – nor by Spirit. Will the Spirits best laid plans unfold as intended? Or will their newly acquired emotions threaten their peaceful journey? As LiLith’s love for a human named Diwan grows, Asmodeeus’ jealousy runs wild. Will jealousy give rise to a fundamental shift in the Eleventh Universe’s balance of power? Can Baylore and LiLith find a way to stem Asmodeeus’ fury? Who will rise? … Who will fall? Is anyone safe?


How can readers discover more about you and you work? http://mariefostino.weebly.com/

http://www.amazon.com/Marie-Fostino/e/B003NQV32W/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0


Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included? 
I would like to thank you again for this interview and to thank all the people who have read and enjoyed my books. Please help an author out. If you enjoy their book tell your friends.

                                                     GIVEAWAY


Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Blog Tour: The Catalyst by Sandra Marshall

Sandy-Marshall-Long    

The Catalyst
by Sandy Marshall


About The Author

0012  Sandra grew up in the mid-west in a small farming community where she belonged to 4-H. When she was thirteen, her family moved to, Lawrence, Kansas, the town where the University of Kansas thrived. After high school, she traveled to California to live with a friend and to find a job. She became very homesick and returned home.   She worked for a major airline for thirty-six years and did extensive travel during that period. It was a lovely time in her life working for a wonderful company. In 1999 she retired to write full time and worked seriously toward publication.   In 2008, she had her first book published, and then her second one in 2009. Shortly after her publisher closed their doors, and she immediately moved to a new publisher. She is still with the publisher and has had three books and a novella published with them. She has just contracted a short story with them titled Hitting Bottom, and is working on another short one.

Website | Blog | Facebook | Amazon | Goodreads | Linkedin 



About The Book

Genre: Romantic Suspense
Publisher: Eirelander Publishing
Release Date: March 6, 2009
Buy: Amazon


Large Base The Catalyst Working copyDescription:

Dark revelations and secret love lead to personal resurrection.

Carolyn Madison didn't kill her husband but didn't mourn him either. The rapist deserved to die, or at least she thought so. Beneath a myriad of family secrets, Carolyn drags the skeletons out of the closet and in the arms of her true love, learns to love again.

Walt Tollhouse has pined for Carolyn since she was a shy seventeen-year-old. Little did he know Robert Dubois would steal her away, and then destroy the beautiful spirit he still loved? Beneath the guise of clean-up man, the martial arts instructor never pushes his battered love but gives her silent support she deserves.  



Excerpt:


Robert rolled his window down, fanning himself as he waited for the cars in front of him to exit. He’d run the company since the death of Carolyn’s father and hadn’t expected to see her at the party tonight.

She’d never taken an interest in the casinos while she raised the kids, but then she hadn’t needed to. He’d paid child support and maintenance to impress old man Madison, so she hadn’t needed to work, but she’d gotten an accounting degree. Hell, she could’ve been working at the firm. He wouldn’t have known it; he didn’t spend any more time there than he had to. She wouldn’t risk coming face to face with him unless she’d found out about his dealings.

Damn, she had to be onto him; otherwise she’d never chase him. He was in deep trouble, and he didn’t want to get into it with the ex-soldier before he left town.

Even though the old man had always treated him like a son, for the last few months he’d ignored Robert. He’d been left out of the loop and treated like a piece of shit by Madison before he died.

Suddenly, a figure rose outside his door. Before he could act, someone grabbed him by the collar and jerked his head through the window.

You bastard. Come out here, you asshole,” Walt roared. “Time to learn some manners, Dubois.”

Stunned, Robert instinctively hit Walt in the jaw and yanked himself back inside the car. Damn. He had to get away from this madman. Robert tried to roll up the window while trying to push Walt out. “What are you talking about?” Damn these cars. Why don’t they move?

You know what I mean.” Walt grabbed the handle, trying to open the door. “Get out here. Time you fight someone your own size.”

The car in front of them took off. Without even looking for traffic, Robert tromped on the accelerator, exiting the lot. The son of a bitch still hung on, running beside him.

It’s not over, Dubois,” Walt hollered and let go.

Robert watched him in his rearview mirror. Walt hated him, and he suspected the man loved Carolyn from the way he hovered around her.

He’d only wanted to party one more night in his Kansas City casino. Barely seeing the road, he glanced at the railroad tracks and the trees lining the Missouri river as he sped along Highway 210 and groaned. He needed to get the hell out of town if he wanted to stay alive, but he couldn’t just quit gambling cold turkey.

Twenty minutes later, Robert glanced over his shoulder before he entered his favorite casino. Good! No one he knew was around him. He took a handkerchief from his suit pocket and wiped it across his forehead. The stories about Walt’s skills and the way he took care of Madison’s enemies made him nervous. Although Tollhouse stayed in the background, Robert knew he was capable of anything.

Robert headed to the high stakes table to get his usual line of credit. He strode across the room and smacked into a man in a loud red shirt surrounded by a large, riotous group of people, but with only a scowl, he went on.

He threw ten one hundred dollar bills on the blackjack table. “Give me five blacks and the rest in green.” Tonight he had the cash to back it up; he had paid the loan shark. Absolutely, never again would he get indebted to him.

A waitress walked nearby, and he waved at her. “Scotch straight.” He placed a couple of black chips worth a hundred dollars a piece on his spot and watched the dealer throw the cards out one by one to the players.

Blackjack.

This time, he would leave the five blacks out. Someone sat beside him, and he glanced at the other player. Robert knew the man in the loud red shirt and greasy hair was a loser. He could spot them a mile away--he’d been snakebit. Quickly, Robert grabbed his chips before the cards were dealt.

Here’s your drink, sir.”

Thanks.” Robert handed her a green chip. He gulped the Scotch in one swallow and handed the glass back to the busty redhead. “I’ll take another, but I’ll be over there.” He pointed to the roulette table.

Moments later, Robert stood at the roulette wheel and called out, “Red,” as he placed a hundred on the table. The ball pinged around the wheel before it landed, then cheers went up. He’d won.

Red again.” He let it all ride.

Cheers again.

People gathered.

Here’s your drink, sir.” The waitress handed him a glass. Robert clasped the drink and dropped a green chip on her tray.

One more time.” A hand clapped him on the back. Robert winced at the touch and the swarthy man in the red shirt leaned forward to place his tokens on red. “I’m going to clean up with you.”

The jinx had followed him, but he’d leave before the man’s luck rubbed off on him. Robert shrugged him off and picked up his tokens. He handed them to the croupier. “Give me black.”

Damn you,” the red-shirted man yelled when he lost his money.

Robert had known the guy was a jinx, but with a glance at the fellow, a pang of fear coursed his body. Was the man following him? Could he work for the loan sharks? Hell, he could even be following him for his partner, Bill Rutherford. A couple of days ago, Bill had questioned him about the stocks. When Robert told him everything was going as scheduled, his partner had sounded as if he didn’t believe Robert.



          Sandy-Marshall-Long    

Follow This Tour Here

 

Blog Tour: Defying Fate by Lola James


   

Defying Fate

by Lola James

About The Author

LolaJamesPhotoLola is a fool for a love story, a sucker for a cupcake, and let’s not talk about what she’d do for a Klondike bar. She enjoys long walks on the beach and movies that involve chainsaws. By day she's the HR Lady and by nightfall she puts on a cape to become a romance writer.

Author Links:





About The Book

Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher: LJ Publishing, Inc.
Release Date: August 9, 2013
Buy: Amazon | BN | Smashwords




Defying Fate_Final_ebook_smallBook Description:

Love… Death… Fate!

Megan opened her heart and defied her fate for love. Alex wanted nothing more than to be with Megan, no matter the cost. After a vision meticulously unravels her existence it leaves Megan wondering is their love worth death?

To escape her demise, Megan enlists the help of Emilian, her vampire protector. However, the world around her slips away as his presence melts her, a gaze ignites her, and when he touches her every sensual fantasy plays in her mind. The problem is she has a job to do and she can’t afford to lose focus but he’s the only one that can keep the looming threats away.

What’s a girl to do? Death is not an option but it may be the only one she has… Continue the fated journey in Defying Fate. 


Excerpt 2

Megan, something has changed, and I am not sure why. Panic laced every one of her hushed words. My heart broke. She had no clue what had happened, and I didn’t want to think about it—let alone repeat it out loud.

Changed how? I carefully looked around, wishing I were dreaming. I wanted to see her instead of just talking to the air. I could use one of her comforting hugs and just some reassurance that everything would be okay.

You have disappeared. I no longer see your future. What happened? Was it Giovanni? Her words startled me. Why would she ask if it was Giovanni? What could he possibly have done to make me disappear? 




 
   

Follow The Tour Here

 



Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Book Review: Come Full Circle by Natalie-Nicole Bates

Title: Come Full Circle
Author: Natalie-Nicole Bates
Publication: September 28th, 2013
Publisher: Books To Go Now
Rating: 5/5 bottles
Amazon | Goodreads Natalie's Website

SYNOPSIS: Fifteen years ago, Bethany Minor fled her hometown after being left at the alter by Dane Brennan. After the sudden death of her mother, she is forced to return home and face her past. 

The years have been hell for Dane, and seeing Bethany again only reopens wounds he long thought closed. 

When they realize the flames of their past love never died, Bethany and Dane will need to 
confess all before they can have a chance to reclaim their life that once should have been. 

But when the truth of the past is finally revealed, will they still stand as a couple?


REVIEW: Come Full Circle, the story of Bethany and Dane, is the story of two young lovers torn apart for 15 years.

Engaged to be married, Bethany Minor fled town after finding out her fiance, Dane, had cheated on her and impregnated someone else.

Now Bethany, a widow, is back in town for the funeral of her mother and has swept back into Dane's life like a whirlwind.

Dane knows he made mistakes in the past. He lives with the consequences of his actions 15 years ago every day of his life. Now 15 years older and wiser, he has lost everything: his son, his wife, his family. Now Bethany, the one he let get away, is back, and all Dane can think about is being with her once again.

With all Bethany is going through, can she find it in her heart to forgive him when she learns the truth? Will two lovers who have experienced life, death, and everything in between finally come full circle and get their happily ever after?

Come Full Circle is yet another wonderful, cozy read from Natalie-Nicole. You can feel the depths of the emotions coming from both Bethany and Dane, and although they have both been hurt in the past - and even by each other - you can't help but wish for a happy ending for the couple.

Come Full Circle is another book that will be kept in my personal collection to be read over and over again. I highly recommend everyone picks up a copy to enjoy while curled up in a cozy reading spot sipping on a nice warm drink ;)


Monday, October 28, 2013

Book Blitz: Chosen by Paulina Ulrich






Goodreads | Releases October 31, 2013
New Adult Paranormal Romance
Fighting Fate Series, Book 1

Chosen


Nothing can stand in the way of outspoken, rule-breaker-extraordinaire, Kaddy Richston…except destiny. Born with wildly colored hair and piercing gray eyes Kaddy knew she was different, but she set her sights on her ambitious dreams of being in a rock band and leaving her small town behind along with the painful memories of her past.


But destiny has other plans for her. 


When the calm, cool, and always collected Cole Huntington enters her life he takes a strange interest in her, his striking blue eyes never wandering far from her every move. Despite her efforts to push him away, he plans on unraveling every single one of Kaddy’s dark secrets even though he has some of his own. 


Despising each other from the start, Kaddy is determined to undermine whatever intentions he has until she learns of a destiny she never asked for. The fate of the world lies in her hands as she learns how different she really is. The only person she can turn to for answers is the last person she’d want help from: Cole Huntington who seems to dislike her rule-breaking as much as she dislikes his rule-following.


Sometimes destiny sucks.





Paulina Ulrich

I have always loved writing, telling stories, and the idea of dreaming big because where I come from, you dream big or you don't dream at all. I'm a full-time author with my slightly insane cat, Juey, who is always happy to keep me company as he so often thinks he can lay on my keyboard to "assist" my writing. I write stories because life wouldn't be as fun without the occasional break from reality.

I am the author of the YA paranormal romance Flightless Bird series, the mature YA/New Adult paranormal romance Fighting Fate series and many more stories to come. When I'm not writing it's either because I ran out of iced tea, I'm out 







Excerpt

           “Kaddy, wait.” I heard Mike trailing me as I turned out of the Wheel Barrel.

            I pressed a hand to my temple and sighed. “Yeah?”

            “You okay? I know you didn’t get a lot of sleep last night.” Mike scratched the back of his head and looked down at me, worried. “Maybe some lunch will help.”

            “What I need is sleep, and what needs to happen is for me to stop having these stupid night terrors.” I leaned back against the hot brick building for a moment.

            “You can’t help it. It’s not your fault.” Mike leaned on his shoulder next to me, his hands deep in his apron pockets.

            “I know, but I hate it. Why can’t they stop?” I smacked my hand to my forehead and sighed. Against my palm, my skin felt too warm. Was I getting sick? Great. It was the last thing I needed. “Do I feel warm to you?” I dropped my hand and looked over at Mike, giving him permission to touch me with a simple confirmation from my eyes.

            Slowly raising his arm, the back of his hand pressed against my cheek. “Damn, Kaddy. You’re burning up! Do you feel all right?”

            I shrugged. I did feel all right, just a little warm. “I feel fine. I need some sleep. Promise to plan on going to bed early tonight?” I doubted he would keep this promise. He and I always stayed up late writing music.

            Mike got a playful glint in his eye. “You know I’m a night owl. No promises there.”

            I sighed and rolled my eyes. “We both are.”

            Mike still had his hand pressed against my cheek until it shifted up to tug his gray beanie down on my forehead. “Maybe it’s just my awesome hat that’s making you overheat. Who wears a beanie in August?” he joked and I playfully scowled at him as I readjusted the knitted beanie.

            “Oh, I’m sure that’s it,” I laughed and gave him a gentle punch on the arm.

            “Whoa.” He took a step back. “You been working out or something? That hurt.” Mike held his upper arm like I had socked it with everything I had. I stood there waiting with my “really?” look and raised my eyebrows in anticipation for his mischievous face to appear. If Mike was anything, he was a jokester. Just like I expected, a few seconds later, he cracked a smile on his lips and started laughing.

            “You always think your little jokes are hilarious!” Even when I rolled my eyes, I couldn’t stop his infectious laughter from causing me to laugh.

            “Kadster, we know I tell the best jokes. I eat sarcasm for breakfast every day.” He winked and wrapped his arm around my shoulders. I didn’t shy from his touch.

            “So do I, but no one but you find anything I say funny.” I looked up at him as he walked me to the corner of the block, the direction of home. Only Mike called me the Kadster. Actually, he had a lot of nicknames for me and I didn’t mind it. He was one of the few I would let getaway with calling me things other than my name.

            “It’s because everyone is just jealous of the awesome friendship we’ve had since we were eight. Haters gonna hate.” He shrugged and his other hand pretended to dust off his shoulder. Mike was the only friend I counted on for anything. Long ago, we made a pact, and so far, he’s kept every word he promised to keep.



Saturday, October 26, 2013

Blog Tour: The Broken by Ker Dukey


Releases Oct 25th


When River’s already broken life shattered further on her sixteenth birthday, she was forced to be with the wrong best friend of her brothers. She was meant for Sammy but circumstance and black mail forced her into a relationship with Danny, a troubled, abusive partner. Leaving the only boy she ever loved to flee. Now four years later he has returned. When her feelings and missing parts of herself that left with him return also, loyalty, restraint and love will be tested. Can she find a way to leave the threatening clutches of Danny, to finally be saved by her childhood love? Or will Danny’s hold on her tighten when more life shattering events consume their already troubled lives? 

When Sammy returns home, after four years of being away from the girl that broke his heart, he’s not prepared for all his old feelings to force their way straight back into his heart. Questions that were left unasked when he left begin to plague him, when the sudden relationship between River and Danny all those years ago seems all the more confusing now. Secrets, mistrust and Danny’s possessive behavior sends up red flags and Sammy begins doubting himself for leaving in the first place. When the spark between Sammy and River finally ignites it will leave explosive consequences for everyone.



Excerpt:
“Sammy!” I call out.
Once we’re alone, he turns and rushes towards me, his hand swiping across my mouth to wipe Danny’s kiss away. “I know why you’re with him.”
My heart begins in drumming against my ribcage flashes of my past echoing in my mind.
“Blaydon told me the kind of love your dad had for you, River. That’s not love, and neither is guilting you into being with someone just because he knows your secrets. I love you. I love everything that you are.”
I stumble backwards, shaking. My mouth opens and the scared girl’s voice tumbles out. “Do you love all of me, Sammy? Because this,” I point down at myself, “this is a lie. This is the lie I show to you and Blaydon; the lie I wear every day for you and for everyone so you won’t have to see the damaged, broken girl underneath. This smile, these clothes, they’re not me. I’m tainted, Sammy. I’m shattered. My mother took some of me with her when she died, my dad took some when he made me sit on his lap while he violated me, and more when he beat Blaydon for stopping him from raping me, and then you left, taking the rest of me, leaving my soul bare and exposed for Danny to capture and hold hostage. Can you fix me, Sammy? Can you want something so ruined and destroyed? Can you put me back together and make me whole again? Because whatever is left of me, the real me, you have her. You own all of her, all that’s left. My thoughts, my body, and my heart. Can you save me? Sammy, please save me. Please save me.”
I collapse to the ground and sob. Sammy bundles me into his lap and strokes my back. “Shh, don’t cry. I love you, and I’ll try every God damn day to save you, River, I promise. I’ll save you, baby.”

DREAMCAST

Ker Dukey
When not lost in her mind of characters Ker can be found reading or spending time with family.
She has a passion for music, attending concerts with her sister and enjoying the occasional nights out with girlfriends.
She can also be found having in-depth chats about book boyfriends on face book in some amazing groups and blogs.
Author Interview:
Q. What inspired you to write this book?
A. I have many stories and characters that plague me and demand to be written. Life is not always a fairy tale, some people’s stories, lives are darker and inspire just as much as the lighter romantic ones.
Q. If you were a character in your book, who would you be?
A. Although she has been through a lot it would have to be River. She’s strong, a survivor, a fighter…..and she gets Sammy ;)
Q. When did you start writing?
A. I have always loved writing stories since I was a little girl. In My teens I loved to write lyrics, it grew from there.
Q. Favourite book boyfriend?
A. Has to be the delicious Kellan Kyle ….drool!





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, October 25, 2013

Book Blitz: Resolutions by Teri Riggs


Synopsis:


DEA agent Eve Taylor has had her fill of alpha males. When Resolutions’ operative and former lover, Dillon “Mac” McKenna, threatened her hard-earned independence, she ran. On a mission to gather evidence against a Colombian drug-lord, Eve discovers the drug-lord is helping terrorists plan an attack on American soil. Before she can escape with the vital information, she’s captured and comes face to face with her mortality…

As a teen, Mac watched his family fall apart after his mother died doing dangerous U.N. work. The possibility of losing Eve to a mission ignited an overwhelming need to protect her. When he forced her to choose him or her job, she walked away. Two years later, it seems all his nightmares have come true and he’s tasked with rescuing her from a Colombian prison. Mac has never stopped loving Eve, but does he dare risk his heart when he’s so terrified of losing…

On the run, Mac and Eve must learn to trust each other again in order to stay alive.



Note: Resolutions is a private black ops agency specializing in the near-impossible extractions of kidnap victims, hostages, and all forms of intelligence other agencies have failed to retrieve.


Resolutions


Honor Guard Series



About The Author

Teri Riggs was destined to be a writer. As a small girl she didn’t read bedtime stories, she made up her own. Who needed Little Red Riding Hood or The Three Little Pigs when there were so many great tales bouncing around in her head? When she grew up and became a mother to three little girls, she continued the tradition of making up bedtime stories. On the occasions she chose to tell conventional fairytales, Teri usually gave them a bit of tweaking here and there or added a new ending. Her girls loved it.
After her daughters had the nerve to actually grow up and leave home, Teri discovered she had a passion for writing and jumped right in. It came as no surprise she chose to write mysteries and happily-ever-after’s since that’s the genres she loves to read.





Teri lives in Marietta, Georgia with her husband, one of her daughters and two dogs that seem to think they rule the world. And some days Teri thinks maybe they do.




 
Resolutions was a finalist in the prestigious Daphne Du Maurier contest
Author Interviews:






Contact Details:


Website: http://teririggs.com


Email: teririggs@gmail.com


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Teri-Riggs/329379907142621


Twitter: @TeriLRiggs






What Readers are saying:

"I love the sexual tension between Eve and Mac. The hot, steamy Colombian jungle makes a great backdrop for a love story that begins with two ex-lovers on the run."

-K. Kishpaugh, Amazon


"The action and suspense were nonstop. Eve was believable as a tough and persistent female protagonist. And I liked how she and Mac's characters developed throughout the story.”

-Marie, Amazon

“Nonstop action and plenty of sexual tension between the lead characters. A quick, suspenseful read. I would recommend this to my friends.”

-Lady A, Amazon
 

“A good read with plenty of action. I liked the gun battle scenes. They were well paced and for fairly accurate. Mendoza was played well and I enjoyed Mac and Eve's determination to stop him.”

-Cooper, Amazon


Enjoy the following excerpt for RESOLUTIONS:


Beefy hands wrenched Eve awake from a fevered sleep, pulled her from the cell, and shoved her into a musty-smelling hallway. I’m being moved? A guard pushed her with one hand, keeping a tight grip on an AK-47 rifle with his other.



Her shoulder throbbed in perfect cadence with the pains shooting through her broken wrist, and she had one badass headache from being punched in the face a few too many times. Using her good hand, she walked fingers across one cheek, then the other. The right side was totally numb. Her eye had swollen shut, and she couldn’t see a damn thing out of it. She ran her tongue across her teeth and tasted the tart, copper flavor of blood. Three teeth loose. Well, at least they’re still in place.



In spite of the relentless pain, she stayed determined to survive whatever Mendoza dished out. She wasn’t a quitter. No, sir. Duncan Falls, Iowa didn’t grow quitters. Eve ignored the constant ache in her ribs, courtesy of a guard’s overzealous kick, and took in a deep breath. She willed herself to stay alert, to keep pushing. Escape. Third times the charm



Eve slapped the guard’s dirty hand. “Hey, Pedro, stop being so damned pushy. Where we going anyway? We got a hot date I’ve forgotten about?”



He looked puzzled then shoved her again.
 


“Don’t understand English, do you, Diego? Bet you understand this.” Eve drove her elbow into the guard’s face. Thick rubbery cartilage gave, and she whooped triumphantly.


Blood squirted from his nose and he screamed.



Eve stepped back. “Yep, I’m pretty sure you understand that.”



Unable to grab the guard’s assault rifle, she clutched her injured shoulder, and took off in a slow jog, no longer able to push any harder.



Her escape was short lived.



Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Stay Updated ♥

Member Of... ♥

Quote of the Month ♥

If I'm honest, I have to tell you I still read fairytales and I like them best of all _ Audrey Hepburn ♥♥♥